THE IMAGINARY ARTS

Discover the artistic trends represented at the Naïa Museum

Intuition, sensitivity or spirituality allow artists to channel an imagination common to all humanity. A form of higher awareness of the existing. The collective unconscious of an era beyond the immediate truths of the visible. Artists create here with their heart and soul, and from their technical mastery a work will be born. The fantastic then exists, the time of uncertainty of reality.

Fantastic Realism

 

Fantastic realism is a school of thought born

in the 60s. It studies, on the margins of official

science, the fields abandoned by it,

such as paranormal phenomena, alchemy,

lost civilizations, extraterrestrial lives and others.

 

Fantastic realism, like other artistic movements,

is articulated around two notions that coexist.

On the one hand, the world of the visible,

the concrete and the conscious, and on

the other hand, the world of the invisible,

the abstract and the unconscious.

 

This movement demonstrates the influence of fiction on reality.

If we take the example of a scientist, he always starts from an idea, from a considered possibility, which he will then try to prove through experience. In a way, it is possible to imagine that science fiction precedes science.

"Everything we dream is fiction and everything we accomplish is science. The whole history of humanity is nothing but science fiction." Ray Bradbury, author of Fahrenheit 451.

 

Fantastic realism explores these two notions, the real and the imaginary, through art, technology, anthropology, esotericism, quantum physics, etc. It only takes abolishing the border between the two to be able to propose a real one enhanced by the strangeness, irrationality and mystery of the human spirit.

 

In art, artists use metaphors to transcribe, through dreamlike or visionary sensitivity, the possibilities of reality. Gilles Courat, through his works exhibited in the museum, fantasizes, in a symbolic way, a perfect symbiosis between man and nature, with this notion of the cycle of life.

 

Fantastic art has always existed. It has its roots in the imagination, it is a faculty inscribed in the human psyche and it will exist as long as the imagination exists.

Visionary art

 

"All artists, whether confirmed or self-taught, have created and continue to create visionary worlds. It is difficult to know where it begins and ends. The recognizable trends are all components of the fantastic, so the boundary is blurred." ("Walter Schurian").

 

Visionary Art proposes to transcend the physical world in order to describe an enlarged vision of consciousness. By including themes such as the spiritual, the mystical and by experiencing the different states of modified consciousness, the visionary artist transposes his mental images onto his work, which he obtains by stimulating awakened dreams. In contrast to conceptual art, these artists allow us to channel an imagination common to all humanity, through intuition and sensitivity. A form of superior receptivity. The collective unconscious of an era beyond the immediate truths of the visible.

 

The artist creates here with his heart and soul, and from his technical mastery will be born a work of art.

 

The fantastic then exists, the time of reality's uncertainty.

Cyberpunk

 

"The cyberpunk current comes from a universe where the

computer geek and the rocker meet, from a culture broth

where the twists and turns of the genetic chains intertwine."

(Bruce Sterling).

 

Cyberpunk (association of the words cybernetics and punk)

is a subgenre of science fiction associated with dystopia

(utopia that goes wrong). It is, most often, about a near future

and a society technologically more advanced than ours

(notably for information technologies and cybernetics).

The cyberpunks worlds are dark and sometimes pessimistic,

ironic and squeaky; the characters are disillusioned, cynical

antiheroes. That is why these universes are considered dystopic.

 

Cyberpunk often chooses the themes of hackers, artificial

intelligence and multinationals located in the near future and

on Earth, unlike science fiction which explore broader themes.

 

The idea of the fusion of the human with the machine, giving

birth to hybrid beings, made of flesh and metal, was popularized

by the cyberpunks universes.

 

In these "other" worlds, computing reigns as a master:

robots are an integral part of our daily life where humans have become machines, robots or cyborgs that can be connected to the network. These transformations, completely modifying our social structures, are considered as a form of human liberation. Yet everything is far from perfect! Man must adapt to the machine and master new technologies to survive. Only the strongest survive. All others are excluded. These worlds are dominated by large multinationals with unlimited powers.

 

In contrast to the Punk movement, Cyberpunks want to master these technologies and therefore their civilization, even if it means being on the margins of this ultra computerized society, but becoming an antihero.

Symbolism

 

Symbolism is an artistic movement of

French origin from the late

19th century.

 

The symbolic artist draws his

imagination from the different myths

of our present or past civilizations,

borrowed from spirituality,

dreams or melancholy.

 

He develops a certain taste for

the strange and the romantic:

it is a search for immaterial qualities

which allows him to shape

a total and immediate revelation

of the psyche, as well as an attraction

for the dark and the macabre.

 

Symbolism often navigates between a form evoking a superior or invisible reality, but can also invite the spectator to the true deciphering of meaning with however a first will to create an impression, a sensation.

 

The landscape often plays on two scenes with an integral vision of the universe and a complete projection of the psyche. It is no longer presented in a descriptive form and is sometimes at the limit of the abstract, which symbolizes the harmony of the cosmos.

 

Symbolists believe that art must present absolute truths that cannot be shown without the filter of the imaginary. They use metaphor and suggestion to create images or objects charged with these symbolic meanings.

 

James Ensor, Gustave Climt, Gustave Moreau, Gustav-Adolf Mossa, etc.

Science fiction

 

Science fiction is a narrative and visual genre (novels -

comics - illustration - cinema - games - etc.).

 

This current tells stories based on a projection of the

future more or less distant, but impossible in the current

state of our knowledge.

 

Science fiction can explore several themes such as:

travel in time, in space, on other planets or in other

worlds (inhabited or not), but also confront man with

his creation. The other or the elsewhere still unknown.

 

It can be used proactively to explore the different

possibilities of our futures. It allows us to imagine the

consequences of our technical, scientific or societal

developments.

 

The SF allows an exploration without prevention,

it evolves permanently and is often inspired by the myths

of previous cultures. It feeds its imagination with visuals

and ideas from current scientific, political or philosophical

events.

 

Science fiction is a rational imaginary and is based on the

assumption that the universe can one day be scientifically

explained. So here no supernatural, magic, or paranormal,

only science can make our world evolve and once

scientifically explained, everything becomes possible:

teleportation, interplanetary travels, nourishing pills,

incredible creatures, etc... Which also doesn't mean that

all this seems banal, just a real future.

Singular Art

 

Singular art is presented as part of a broad movement of the after art brut, which presents contemporary artists, mostly self-taught, having established a voluntary distance or not with institutional art. It can have different names: "art on the margins", "art outside the norms", "raw art" among others.

 

These artists often develop their works far from the mainstream influences of today's major trends. The outsider art presents a spontaneous and instinctive creation with multiple inspirations, but three main channels can be distinguished: The psychics, the psychopathologies, the marginal.

Pop Surrealism

 

Pop Surrealism is an underground Californian creative movement that emerged from lowbrow art of the 1990s. It draws its dreamlike side from the surrealist movement and its graphic style from pop art.

 

Lowbrow is an aesthetic trend (painting, sculpture, digital, etc.) that feeds on the popular culture of comics, graphics, commercials or cartoons and therefore all artistic media not considered part of the fine arts. This makes the symbolism of this movement understandable and accessible by most people, who do not possess the intellectual baggage of art history or who are not much concerned by these artistic disciplines. It attracts them and makes them less intimidated in front of art thanks to these familiar icons.

 

Pop Surrealism artists often come from the generation of Disney to Crumb, and the diversion of their heroes by expressing the rejection of certain values of their society, modifies the spirit of the subject, and so their work becomes a subversive and anti-social caricatural critique.

Follow us

  • Facebook - Naïa Museum
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Flickr - Naïa Museum
  • TripAdvisor - Naïa Museum

02 97 40 12 35

naiamuseum@gmail.com

© Naïa Museum - 2018

Les arts de l'imaginaire

Découvrir les courants artistiques présents au Naïa Museum

L'intuition, la sensibilité ou la spiritualité permettent aux artistes de canaliser un imaginaire commun à toute l'humanité. Une forme de conscience supérieure de l'existant. L'inconscient collectif d'une époque au delà des vérités immédiates du visible. Les artistes créent ici avec le cœur et l'âme, et de leur maîtrise technique naîtra une œuvre. Le fantastique existe alors, le temps de l'incertitude du réel.

L'art fantastique, Le réalisme Fantastique

ou réalisme magique

Le réalisme fantastique est

un mouvement de contreculture des années 1960,

relayé par la revue Planète qui se présente comme

un courant de pensée étudiant les domaines

considérés comme exclus à tort par la science

officielle : phénomènes paranormaux, alchimie,

civilisations disparues, etc.

Le réalisme fantastique emprunte largement

à d’autres mouvements artistiques qui développent

des thèmes communs comme l’inconscient ou

le surnaturel.

Il cherche à représenter l’inconscient et le conscient. Il préconise de débusquer le fantastique au cœur même du réel et postule le fait que la fiction influence souvent le réel, tout en l’informant par anticipation sur ses devenirs potentiels. Il se situe aux croisements de l’art et de la technologie, de l’alchimie et de l’anthropologie, de l’ésotérisme et de la physique quantique, de l’avéré et de l’imaginaire…

Il propose une vision du réel renouvelée et élargie par la part d’étrangeté, d’irrationalité, de bizarrerie ou de mystère que l'existence et l'esprit humain recèlent. L'idée est que l'imaginaire fait partie de la réalité et que la frontière entre les deux doit être abolie.

le fantastique puise ses racines dans la réalité qu'il transcende sur le mode métaphorique, il ne se contente pas de décrire le monde avec objectivité, il le transforme pour en révéler des aspects inattendus perçus à travers la sensibilité du peintre, atteignant la plupart du temps un aspect onirique ou visionnaire, déroutant comme le rêve ou les expériences transpersonnelles, mais porteur de signification comme eux.

 

L'art fantastique est de tous les temps. Il trouve son fondement dans l'imaginaire, une faculté inscrite dans la psyché, il existera tant que l'imaginaire existera...

L'art visionnaire

"Tous les artistes, confirmés ou autodidactes, ont créé et continuent de créer des mondes visionnaires. Il est difficile de savoir où cela commence et où cela finit. Les tendances, reconnaissables, sont toutes des composantes du fantastique, donc la frontière y est floue."

(" Walter Schurian ").

 

L'art visionnaire propose de transcender le monde physique pour en proposer une vision élargie de la conscience. En incluant des thèmes tels que le spirituel, le mystique et en expérimentant les différents états de conscience modifiée, l'artiste visionnaire transpose ses images mentales dans son œuvre, Il les obtient en stimulant les rêves éveillés. Contrairement à l'art conceptuel, ces artistes nous permettent de canaliser une imagination commune à toute l'humanité, par l'intuition et la sensibilité. Une forme de réceptivité accrue. L'inconscient collectif d'une époque au-delà des vérités immédiates du visible.

 

L'artiste crée ici avec son cœur et son âme, et de sa maîtrise technique naîtra une œuvre d'art.

 

Le fantastique existe alors, le temps de l'incertitude de la réalité.

Le cyberpunk

 

"Le courant cyberpunk vient d'un univers où le geek informatique

et le rocker se rencontrent, d'un bouillon de culture où

s'entrelacent les méandres des chaînes génétiques."

(Bruce Sterling).

 

Le cyberpunk (association des mots cybernétique et punk)

est un sous-genre de la science-fiction associé à la dystopie

(utopie qui tourne mal). Il s'agit, le plus souvent, d'un avenir

proche et d'une société technologiquement plus avancée que

la nôtre (notamment pour les technologies de l'information

et la cybernétique). Les mondes des cyberpunks sont sombres

et parfois pessimistes, ironiques et grinçants ; les personnages

sont des antihéros désillusionnés et cyniques.

C'est pourquoi ces univers sont considérés comme dystopiques.

 

Cyberpunk choisit souvent les thèmes des hackers,

de l'intelligence artificielle et des multinationales situées dans

un futur proche et sur Terre, contrairement à la science-fiction

qui explore des thèmes plus larges.

 

L'idée de la fusion de l'humain avec la machine,

donnant naissance à des êtres hybrides, faits de chair et de métal,

a été popularisée par les univers cyberpunks.

 

Dans ces "autres" mondes, l'informatique règne en maître : les robots font partie intégrante de notre vie quotidienne où les humains sont devenus des machines, des robots ou des cyborgs qui peuvent être connectés au réseau. Ces transformations, qui modifient complètement nos structures sociales, sont considérées comme une forme de libération humaine. Mais tout est loin d'être parfait ! L'homme doit s'adapter à la machine et maîtriser les nouvelles technologies pour survivre. Seuls les plus forts survivent. Tous les autres sont exclus. Ces mondes sont dominés par de grandes multinationales aux pouvoirs illimités.

 

Contrairement au mouvement Punk, les Cyberpunks veulent maîtriser ces technologies et donc leur civilisation, même si cela signifie être en marge de cette société ultra informatisée, mais devenir un anti-héros.

Le symbolisme

 

Le symbolisme est un mouvement

artistique d'origine française

de la fin du XIXe siècle.

 

L'artiste symbolique puise

son imagination dans les différents

mythes de nos civilisations

présentes ou passées, empruntés à

la spiritualité, au rêve ou

à la mélancolie.

 

Il développe un certain goût

pour l'étrange et le romantique :

c'est une recherche de qualités

immatérielles qui lui permet de

façonner une révélation totale et

immédiate du psychisme,

ainsi qu'une attirance pour le noir

et le macabre.

 

Le symbolisme navigue souvent entre une forme évoquant une réalité parallèle ou invisible, mais peut aussi inviter le spectateur au véritable décryptage du sens avec cependant une première volonté de créer une impression, une sensation.

 

Le paysage joue souvent sur deux scènes avec une vision intégrale de l'univers et une projection complète du psychisme et de la pensée. Il n'est plus présenté sous une forme descriptive et se trouve parfois à la limite de l'abstrait, qui symbolise l'harmonie du cosmos.

 

Les symbolistes croient que l'art doit présenter des vérités absolues qui ne peuvent être montrées sans le filtre de l'imaginaire. Ils utilisent la métaphore et la suggestion pour créer des images ou des objets chargés de ces significations symboliques.

 

James Ensor, Gustave Climt, Gustave Moreau, Gustav-Adolf Mossa, etc.

La science fiction

 

La science-fiction est un genre narratif et visuel

(romans - bandes dessinées - illustration - cinéma -

jeux - etc.)

 

Ce courant raconte des histoires basées sur

la projection d'"un futur plus ou moins lointain,

mais impossible dans l'état actuel de nos

connaissances.

 

La science-fiction peut explorer plusieurs thèmes

tels que : Le voyage dans le temps, dans l'espace,

sur d'autres planètes ou dans d'autres mondes

(habités ou non), mais aussi confronter l'homme

à sa création. L'autre ou l'ailleurs encore inconnu.

 

Il peut être utilisé de manière proactive pour explorer

les différentes possibilités de notre avenir.

Elle nous permet d'imaginer les conséquences de

nos évolutions techniques, scientifiques ou sociétales.

 

Le SF permet une exploration sans prévention,

il évolue en permanence et s'inspire souvent des

mythes des cultures précédentes. Il nourrit son

imagination d'images et d'idées issues d'événements

scientifiques, politiques ou philosophiques d'actualité.

 

La science-fiction est un imaginaire rationnel et

repose sur l'hypothèse que l'univers peut un jour

être expliqué scientifiquement. Ici donc pas de

surnaturel, de magie, de paranormal, seule la science

peut faire évoluer notre monde et une fois tout expliqué scientifiquement, tout devient possible : téléportation, voyages interplanétaires, pilules nourrissantes, créatures incroyables, etc...

Ce qui ne veut pas dire non plus que tout cela semble banal mais juste, vrai et futur.

L'art Singulier

 

L'art singulier est présenté comme faisant partie d'un large mouvement post art brut, qui présente des artistes contemporains, pour la plupart autodidactes, ayant établi une distance volontaire ou non avec l'art institutionnel. Il peut avoir des noms différents : "art en marge", "art hors normes", "art brut" entre autres.

 

Ces artistes développent souvent leurs œuvres loin des influences dominantes des grandes tendances actuelles. L'art de l'outsider présente une création spontanée et instinctive aux inspirations multiples, mais on distingue trois canaux principaux : Les médiums, les psychopathologies, les marginaux.

Le pop surréalisme

 

Le Pop Surréalisme est un mouvement créatif californien clandestin qui a émergé de l'art populaire des années 1990. Il puise son côté onirique dans le mouvement surréaliste et son style graphique dans le pop art.

 

Le Lowbrow est une tendance esthétique (peinture, sculpture, numérique, etc.) qui se nourrit de la culture populaire de la bande dessinée, du graphisme ou de la publicité et donc de tous les médias artistiques non considérés comme faisant partie des arts plastiques. Cela rend le symbolisme de ce mouvement compréhensible et accessible à la plupart des gens, qui ne possèdent pas le bagage intellectuel de l'histoire de l'art ou qui ne sont pas très concernés par ces disciplines artistiques. Il les attire et les rend moins intimidés devant l'art grâce à ces icônes familières.

 

Les artistes du Pop Surréalisme viennent souvent de la génération de Disney à Crumb, et le détournement de leurs héros en exprimant le rejet de certaines valeurs de leur société, modifie l'esprit du sujet, et ainsi leur travail devient une critique caricaturale subversive et antisociale.

Suivez-nous !

  • Facebook - Naïa Museum
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Flickr - Naïa Museum
  • TripAdvisor - Naïa Museum

02 97 40 12 35

naiamuseum@gmail.com

© Naïa Museum - 2018