THE PLACE

This private museum-gallery covers 500 m² and is divided into 6 rooms, including a medieval underground, a garden and a shop.

An inseparable part of the history of the Castle of Rochefort-en-Terre

 

Located in the park of the Castle of Rochefort-en-Terre, the Naïa Museum takes advantage of the resonance of the past of this historic site, the oldest remains of which date from the 12th century. Rochefort-en Terre is a small town of character, elected the favourite village of the French in 2016, and benefits from one of the most beautiful medieval Breton heritage. The castle domain hosts the ruins of the fortress, as well as the Museum which fits perfectly into it.

 

The castle, as we know it today, was built at the beginning of the 20th century by an American painter, Alfred Klots. He elects residence, the time of the works, in a building in front of the castle. He settles down to paint in a room with a large glass roof, now occupied by the museum. This large room receives the light of the north, ideal lighting to practice painting but also to contemplate it.

Some of Alfred Klots' paintings find their place in the Naïa Museum, thus integrating the theme of the relationship to time, developed by the museum. A large portrait of Alfred Klots, drawn by his son Trafford Klots, is also visible in the museum shop.

 

The castle and its estate were sold to the Conseil Général du Morbihan in 1978 and became the property of the commune in 2013.

At the end of 2014, the municipality proposed to two artists to take over the management of part of the site which, until 2011, is a museum dedicated to art and local heritage.

An emblematic figure, Naïa

 

There is another important figure who marked the places and spirits of the villagers at the beginning of the 20th century. Her nickname is "Naïa", the witch of Rochefort-en-Terre, known to live in the ruins of the castle. According to Charles Géniaux, author who met her and wrote about her in 1899, she is perceived as a shaman capable of ubiquity, reading the future and not feeling pain. Daughter of a healer, she is cultivated and knows the powers of plants, which makes her a healer.

A popular and marginal figure at the same time, it is symbolically that Patrice and Manu decided to take back her name to baptize the museum.

A space is reserved for her in the museum, which only the curious will discover!

 

Between the spirits of Naïa the witch and Alfred Klots, the Naïa Museum can only find its place!

Follow us

  • Facebook - Naïa Museum
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Flickr - Naïa Museum
  • TripAdvisor - Naïa Museum

02 97 40 12 35

naiamuseum@gmail.com

© Naïa Museum - 2018

LE LIEU

Ce musée-galerie privé se présente sur 500 m2 et se répartit en 6 salles, dont un souterrain médiéval, un jardin et une boutique.

 

Un lieu indissociable de l’histoire du Château de Rochefort-en-Terre

 

Situé dans le parc du Château de Rochefort-en-Terre, le Naïa Museum profite de la résonance du passé de ce site historique, dont les plus anciens vestiges datent du XIIème siècle. Petite cité de caractère, élue village préféré des français en 2016, Rochefort-en Terre bénéficie d’un patrimoine breton médiéval parmi les plus beaux. Le domaine du château accueille les ruines de la forteresse, ainsi que le Musée qui s’y intègre parfaitement.

 

Le château, tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui, a été construit au début du XXème siècle par un peintre américain, Alfred Klots. Il élit résidence, le temps des travaux, dans une bâtisse en face du château. Il s’installe pour peindre dans une salle avec une grande verrière, maintenant occupée par le musée. Cette grande pièce reçoit la lumière du nord, éclairage idéal pour pratiquer la peinture mais aussi pour la contempler.

Certains tableaux d’Alfred Klots trouvent leur place au Naïa Museum, s’intégrant ainsi à la thématique du rapport au temps, développée par le musée. Un grand portrait de Alfred Klots, dessiné par son fils Trafford Klots, est aussi visible dans la boutique du Musée.

 

Le château et son domaine sont vendus au Conseil Général du Morbihan en 1978 et deviennent la propriété de la commune en 2013.
Fin 2014, la municipalité propose à deux artistes de reprendre la gestion d'une partie du site qui, jusqu’en 2011, est un musée dédié à l’art et au patrimoine local.

Une figure emblématique, Naïa

 

Il existe un autre personnage important qui a marqué les lieux et les esprits des villageois au début du XXème siècle. Son surnom c’est “Naïa”, la sorcière de Rochefort-en-Terre, connue pour vivre dans les ruines du château. D’après Charles Géniaux, auteur qui la rencontre et écrit sur elle en 1899, elle est perçue comme une chamane capable d’ubiquité, de lire l’avenir et de ne pas ressentir la douleur. Fille d'un rebouteux, elle est cultivée et connaît les pouvoirs des plantes, ce qui fait d’elle une guérisseuse.

Figure populaire et marginale à la fois, c’est symboliquement que Patrice et Manu ont décidé de reprendre son nom pour baptiser le musée.
Un espace lui est réservé dans le musée, que seuls les curieux découvriront !

 

Entre les esprits de Naïa la sorcière et d’Alfred Klots, le Naïa Museum ne peut que trouver sa place !

Suivez-nous !

  • Facebook - Naïa Museum
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Flickr - Naïa Museum
  • TripAdvisor - Naïa Museum

02 97 40 12 35

naiamuseum@gmail.com

© Naïa Museum - 2018